The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

when we look back on the past, we will find a great number of outstanding achievements were not appreciate by the people at that time, by contrast, people in the later generation correctly recognized these achievements. although some remarkable achievement hard to recognized by the people at that time because of its radical nature, it is not mean that all of brilliant individuals and achievements could not be recognized by their contemporaries. I will try to illustrate it in the following essay.

when we look back to the history, people at contemporary hold a different perspective with people at that time, it is easier for people to make a comprehensive evaluation for some individuals and events, when people have more information about the subsequent impact of these individuals and events. For example, vincent van gogh, one of the famous painting of the world, has not be accept by peer and public at that time, during his life, almost non of painting of him have been sold and eventually he commits suicide. However, contemporary people regard he as pioneer of post-impressionism because of his outstanding breakthrough of art. radical individuals and works are generally hard to accept by people at that time, but can be appreciate by people at the later generation, just like vincent van gogh. since no people could portent the impact of these individuals that seems meaningless and subversion of tradition.

although some individuals could not be appreciated by their contemporary, some contribution and achievement of brilliant people could be realized immediately. which depend on their field. For example, art and literary achievement tend be recognize by the people at later generation, but science sport and business breakthrough are easer by appreciated immediately. when Einstein came up with relativity theory, the theory shake the whole physics immediate. Production line technology, came up by Ford, benefits public of America, bring cheap and durable vehicle to every family,which stimulate America economy immediately. All of this achievement could be judge by their contemporary. In some other situation, individuals hard be evaluate by particular group of people, since contribution of them have both long-term and short-term impact. For example, one-child policy of China makes most family could not have more than one child, which makes a lot of public unpleasant at that time. but this policy release population pressure efficiently and avoid a lot of potential resource and energy problem. In this case, both people at that time and contemporary could evaluate the policy and judge the politicians.