The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Recently, a prevalent statement we often see is that an entity only could be estimated by people live after them. This is because those people could have more total comprehension with concerning whole life. Opponents, nonetheless, argue that contemporaries also could provide valuable opinions about the greatness of an entity. From a personal view, both are reasonable. The details would be discussed below.

To begin with, people who live after one specific entity could glean more comprehensive information. Specifically, one would manage to hide some details of his life as living style, income condition, family members and so on. But these information could be achieved easily after his death because few people would keep these secrets for a dead man. In this case, people who live after that entity could access much more information and make a fair opinion about him. At the same time, there is no doubt that a man's death means the end of his own story. He could not do anything to get achievement or treat others. His all work would not go on but stopping and waiting for estimating.

At the same time, however, one specific entity's contemporary people also provide the essential message for their own feeling about him. For instance, few of us could tell clearly how Confucious change farmer's living style. In this condition, assume that we are real farmers who live in that temporary. There is no doubt that we could claim the truth more readily. The people who live in the same earl with a specific entity would spend a life which was influenced by that man in almost all aspects. And these influences could affect people's feeling profoundly. Hence, contemporary people have the ability to detail one's achievement and influence from their own feeling.

Admittedly, a minority of individuals tend to believe that contemporary people who were treated or influenced by the environment could hardly provide opinions without partisanship. Nonetheless, if we could analyze that issue from a different view, we could find they have oversimplified the fact that their partisanship is also a crucial part of researching history. Researcher is necessary to glean comprehensive information to recreate a total figure of a specific individual. Treating is also a part of that figure.

To sum up, it is best to collect estimation not only after one death but also he is alive in order to access an ecumenical figure. Considering the different reasons above, both statements are reasonable.