Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

how should we define a great nation, by its people’">people’s general welfare, or instead by the achievements of its elites? To me, both factors are indispensable for a nation to be called “great”.

one the one hand, to identify a great nation, one certainly should not miss its people’">people’s welfare. There are countless cases in human history in which a nation’s outstanding individuals produce many remarkable achievements at the cost of people’">people’s livelihood. such a nation can hardly be counted as great, for it misses the original intention of humans to form political entities, namely, to protect the people. these totalitarian nations produce each monumental project to fulfill the personal ambitions and pleasures of the tyrant. one needs to look no further than the former Soviet Union to confirm this point. it made countless scientific achievements within the last century, but at the expense of its common people’">people’s livelihood. In the end, when many of its people were short of bread and milk, the country could no longer survive on satellites and semiconductors. Whatever achievement were made, they were not dedicated to making its people’">people’s life better. when we now look at this history, we think that its atrocities have overshadowed any of its greatness.

one the other hand, even though the general welfare of the people is a necessary indicator of a great nation, it is not a sufficient marker. In fact, when we look at the names of great nations in the entirety of human history, these names pop out: ancient Greece, the Roman Empire, China, great Britain and so on. when we think about them, we do not immediately reflect on the comfort of their people, but we remind ourselves of all the marks these countries have imprinted on the entirety of human civilization, such as democracy, the aqueduct, paper. the laws of motion, just to name a few. Apparently, these all have much to do with great individuals. In sharp contrast with these examples are the wealthy countries surrounding the Persian Gulf. Perhaps their citizen enjoy very happy lives given their financial status. However, these countries cannot leave their names in the hall of fame simply by exploiting nature oil resources.

All in all, the work of great individuals and the general welfare of people are not in tension as the prompt suggests. In a country where life is relatively easy, people have more opportunities to develop their own strengths, and the success of these individuals will, in turn, benefit the life of the general public. To sum up, only through scrutiny into both aspects can one reliable tell how great a nation really is.