Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Although the main purpose of the government is to create a pleasant milieu for it's people, achievements that facilitate the well being is also a important yardstick to assess the greatness of a country.

Admittedly, the government's fundamental purpose is to enhance the overall living conditions of their nation. Relegating legislators that enforce laws that favor their hometowns or themselves is preposterous: they should represent the public's opinions and facilitate the society so that it is more favorable to the general public. Without prudent legislations, it would be difficult to call a nation developed. For instance, Finland is a developed nation in the sense that it has the greatest social welfare system created by the government and people's endeavor to create a society that is pleasant to all people. Without the happiness of the people, the nation as a whole can be assessed as lugubrious and incompetent.

Nevertheless, political success can be a category to appraise the nation's competence. Without renown politicians who can resolve political conflict or social problems, the country is unlikely to develop. To some extent, the nation's prosperity relies on the abilities of the leaders. North Korea is the opposing example: due to the faulty dictatorship, North Koreans are deprived of food and clothes and are very unhappy. Some even try running away from the government in a attempt to find new lives that would at least provide the basis of human rights. Consequently, the governor's aptness should not be overlooked when assessing a nations greatness.

Finally, either the well being of a nation or the achievements of the nation is sufficient to present the countries' success. For instance, the Soviet Union excelled in many disciplines by the funding of the government as a means of facilitating weapon development. However, their people suffered from destitute which cannot be seen as a healthy country. On the other hand, Brunay which is a country in the east-asia, is a prolific country due to the oil investments. Nevertheless, their educational status is derelict and no major breakthroughs in any field has been made. Even though they hold a high living standards, because of their lack of accomplishments, they are not recognized globally.

In conclusion, although the propitious environment should be a primary virtue to pursue when evaluating a country, the accomplishments should never be overlooked in the process. Both of these together constitute the success of a nation.