People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises a controversy about whether one's actions are manipulated by the environment. It is hard to disagree with this argument since the environment surrounding us indeed has a significant influence on us. Although the notion that a human's behaviors are decided by forces exterior from one's own conscience may seem convincing, I believe that most human behaviors can be controlled by one's thoughts.

First of all, even though there are situations that seem to force one's actions, there is usually an alternative of such an act. For instance, Sally, a child from a impecunious neighborhood stole a bread to alleviate her hunger. Although it seems like Sally, considering she is just a kid didn't have much choice about stealing the bread. On the other hand, if looked closely, she could have taken other actions such as dealing with the owner of the shop and deciding to do menial chores in exchange of some bread. This example can be applied to lots of other examples that looks like, superficially, the situation has determined one's behavior, when actually the person had some other choice that was overlooked. Consequently, it may be the lack of one's free will or conscience to act morally in severe situations.

Next, even though there are various forces that try to shape our behavior, our minds are the ultimate force that decides our actions. For example, however hard Fred's parents persuade him to go to medical school, a force trying to shape Fred's behavior, if Fred just simply decides to enroll in the engineering department, it would be simply impossible for Fred's parents to stop Fred. In this case Fred's mind and willingness to pursue a career in engineering is the interior force that overcomes the exterior force: Fred's parents' persuasion. This example shows that in any situation, one's willingness and thoughts cannot be change by the exterior environment and that the individual can consequently achieve what he/she wants in the end. Hence, it can be argued that a willingness will be enough to overcome the outer forces that may influence one's behaviors.

In conclusion, however tempting it may be to comply to exterior forces, one may be able to shape their behavior by one's thoughts. They can consider other possible options that may seem hidden, or by simply following their hearts, they can be the owners of their fates.