Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The study of history is thought to be helpful since it can help people from obviating the pitfalls of the precedents. However, people tend to be nearsighted to discern the relationships of the past and the present. Still, overlooking the past would be pernicious since there are knowledges of the past which possess value regardless of the current status, and it still helps preventing repetitive mistakes.

Admittedly, humans are myopic and tend to focus only on the current status. People's characteristics do not change through history: avarice is one of the perpetual traits of humans and it has caused countless issues throughout the human history. Therefore, the knowledge about the past would be futile because people will likely focus on their current situations rather that searching for connections to the past. For instance, the WW2 occurred even though the nations of the time were well aware of the consequences of the WW1. From this, we can assert that people will overlook the past even though the relationships seem patent.

Nevertheless, indifference to the past knowledge would itself be dangerous. The information of the past is so vast because of the prolonged time of accumulation. Disciplines such as mathematics or medicine today would have not been possible if it wasn't for the precedent's inquiry into the subject. For instance, the DongIBoGam, a Korean medicine book is still used as a source of information in the traditional medical center which is a still welcomed practice. All in all, the past knowledge may be a stepping stone to the present and provides invaluable information.

Finally, the knowledge of the history may help precluding from making costly mistakes. There are situations where the outcomes of a historical event is so prominent - either in a good way or bad - that the establishment of a relationship is impossible to miss. For instance, the US's attack on Hiroshima using the atomic bombs were so cataclysmic that the world were alerted by the impact of these mass destructions. After the incident, world leaders are prudent on the development and utilization of the atomic weapons which is lesson learnt from the past events.

In conclusion, even though some characteristics of humans hamper the comprehension of the relationship between the past and the present, the history can not only provide information that may be of great use, but also prevent humans from making similar mistakes of the past.