Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There has been constant debate whether the government consisting of only a few people of a nation could really enforce democracy. Also, there has been many cases of conflict between politicians and the citizens in various countries because of the unbalance of information. Politicians should withhold some information from the people because some information may include national secretes, and if the people are too informed, the process of policy making may be strongly opposed by certain parties and will be hindered.

First of all, politicians have close access to government secretes which may harm the nation if the information is leaked(divulged) to another country. In this case, if the politicians are mandated to inform citizens, these kinds of top secret information will be easily leaked which will be detrimental to the country. For instance, if politicians are to be forced to give information about trade matters of the country, people may post this kind of information online, which by the way is hard to block. Then, other governments will take advantage of this information and will try to take a higher(advantageous) position while making trade agreements. This example is not only limited to trade but may be applied to other parts of the nation's interaction with other countries such as military, finance, culture etc. However, there is also the danger that these politicians take advantage of these information and try to make money out of it by selling these top secrets to other countries. For example, Donald Trump sold the USA's secret to Russia. Therefore, informing citizens may be highly pernicious to the government and country because of the potential of information leakage although still not totally safe in the politician's hands.

Next, by informing the people, the government might face hard opposition when deciding or making policies. Because people are so enlightened, they may represent more resentment toward the government and blame their policies. For instance, if the government decided to block the crypto-currency market because it is causing the stock market to break down and they inform the citizens before approving the policy, they will possibly face a hard opposition from the people who have invested heavily in crypto-currency. Then even though the government has decided to go through this policy for a good cause, to save the stock market, it will result in hatred toward the government, and people opposing the policy may make protests to hinder the policy making process. Nevertheless, these kinds of protests and the people participating in decision making processes could also have some positive effects such as making the government make more thought out and rigorous policies. All in all, enlightening citizens will hinder the speed of decision making but may lead to more prudent decisions.

In conclusion, giving information to the citizens may lead to information to travel overseas which may lead to other countries benefit, and may cause the approval of a policy to become sluggish. However, by allow citizens to participate in politics, it may also result in a more organized and inclusive policy.