Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the democratic society, we expect our leaders to portray our ideas of the society and cast a vote to those who seem pertinent for that job. However, after being elected the leader may not conform to our standards of legislation. Although it is important that these leaders accomplish their ideas of the society, it is also important that they are able to listen to the general as well, and make harmony between the different notions.

Admittedly, a leader should be able to steadfast a policy even if it raises controversy. Without any conviction for their policies, a government official will accomplish very little because there is no such thing as a perfect law: every law has its ups and downs and thus proponents and opponents. If a leader sways every time a rebuttal is raised, he will certainly not be able to fulfill his objectives. For instance, Obama was able to create Obama care - which was very controversial due to the lucid pros and cons it will bring to the society - because he was confident about his ideas and that it will be helpful the US citizens in general. If he lacked the confidence, he would have nullified the policy and US would not have a efficient health care system.

Nevertheless, a leader who is highly obstinate could cause ominous effects to a nation. Even in situations when the consequences seem patent and the public is conscience of the policy, these leaders may push their ways because their haughtiness. For instance, G. Bush started the Iraq war even though US citizens thought that it would be costly to the nation. His strong beliefs lead to numerous US soldiers' sacrifice and a significant part of the national budget was mete to support this misery, and this war caused most advocates of the presidency to turn their backs on the government due to the futile policies. Consequently, a leader should to some extent, take the public opinion into account.

Furthermore, to be a efficient leader one should be able to balance between one's own notions and the public's notions. In a democratic society, a leader is a representative of the society not a ruler: the individual is elected to portray our notions and will for the community while granted the authority to do so in their way. For example, President Moon in Korea, has created the citizen's Sinmungo - a online communication system enabling citizens to communicate with the presidential house - to get a insight into public needs. This policy is extoled by the korean citizens because it helps the leader to portray their ideas into governing the country.

In conclusion, although a leader should be obdurate enough to carry out his morals, it should not be to the extent that the individual does not listen to the public. Rather, he should be able to reach reasonable consensus between the public and oneself.