The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology such as modern computers, printers, fax machines have helped the contemporary office to work with ease and efficiency. Nevertheless, working time has not decreased significantly. Also, the development of new devices should focus on helping the humanity as a whole not facilitate our leisure time.

Admittedly, with high tech offices we have been able to work with pace. Instead of repeating menial tasks, we use the computer and printers and make them do the work for us. Also, instant messaging and internet based meetings enable us to communicate with our colleagues in a unprecedented method. All these developments have helped us to retrench our time mete to complete our tasks. For instance, software developers have vocations that support working home conditions as long as they are competent enough to sustain their work. By working at home they might spend more time with their families and focusing more on their hobbies, which is also presents a positive effect to their focus on their jobs. Hence, with technology development, some of us are able emancipated from work.

Nevertheless, not all people are freed from work. Even if their efficiency has increased the total time spent in their companies may remain the same or prolonged due to company policy. Furthermore, some managers expect more work done by employees because by believe that by utilizing modern devices, they have more time to do additional ones. Not to mention the possibility of exacerbated competition between corporations. Business rivals may be stimulate their employees to work harder because of the increased efficiency in their correspondent's.

Moreover, the development of technology should focus on the improved conditions of the humanities rather that myopic goals of increased leisure time. For instance, scientists and engineers should not only research on producing amenities, but also environmental issues such as how to foil global warming by reducing carbon dioxide emission. Companies such as Edison motors are a good example. Instead of developing traditional cars, they manufacture electric vehicles which is friendlier to the environment while still focusing on the function of the car itself: fast transportation.

In conclusion, even though a fraction of us may benefit from development, others may have to suffer like the precedents. In addition, development should be grounded on the good of the human in the long run, not just short sighted goals.