The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Traits of the society are represented by idols or prominent leaders because the people usually conform to their ideas and actions. Nevertheless, it would be incoherent to asseverate that these representative characters present distinct cultures of the society, let alone the society as a whole.

Admittedly, national idols may represent the characters of a culture because they hold within themselves the wishes, trends, and notions of the people of the era. For instance, Da Vinci could be held as the most important figure of the Renaissance era due to his countless discoveries and inventions. His inquiry into various fields such as art, music, biology, mechanics present the notion of the time as full of curiosity and a craving for a prolific culture: without the understanding of Da Vinci, we would not be able to grasp the characters of that time of history.

Nonetheless, due to globalization it has become difficult to understand the distinctive traits of a society by only scrutinizing the idols of such groups. Since the transactions between global leaders are not an anomaly, the representatives tend to learn from each other and try to adapt the propitious traits of the other. For instance, Jay Park a Korean famous hip hop artist, is close friends with Jay-Z and they cooperate and exchange ideas about music, thus resulting in similar style of hip hop in both countries because they both lead the music trend in each of their countries. Also, the current Korean president Moon, is famous for adapting the actions of president Obama and his eloquence. Hence, because of globalization, and leaders imitating each other, they no longer can represent distinct characters of the nation.

Furthermore, it would be unsound to argue that a leader represents the society as a whole. Especially political leader, however famous and popular, always possess opposing factions. From a foreigner's point of view, the opposition's ideas and characters are cloaked by the leaders stance and thus will never be able to understand the overall background of the nation. For instance, President Rho, a former Korean president, was revered by many because of his endeavor to clean the corrupted police force. However, he also faced many opposition due to his faulty economic policies and if one simply looks at him as a national idol, it would be impossible to grasp the economic and political situation Korea was in at that time.

In conclusion, even though icons may represent some traits of the nation, due to globalization and opposition, a single figure cannot represent all the characters of a society.