The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author asserts that the conclusions drawn form Dr. Field's study are invalid because of the children mainly mentions their parents instead mentioning all their protectors uniformly. However, his argument is not sound and needs to provide supplementary evidence to further support his ideas. He should elaborate on the correlation between offspring's conversation about their parents and nurturing methods of the village. In addition, he should explicitly explain why the observation method is flawed and what advantages the interview-based method possess over it.

First of all, the writer fails to explain the relationship between the children's conversations to their nurturers. Although the village altogether takes care of the child, there may be some natural inclination for children to follow and thus talk more about their biological parents. In this case, concluding that direct parents are the main source of nurturing would be a logical fallacy. Or, there is also the possibility that these children do not exactly know about their genetic parents and conceive their closest adult as their parent. Since they feel intimate with them, it would be natural to become loquacious when they are mentioned. All in all, it would be hasty reasoning to asseverate that this village doesn't take care of the kids as a whole, unless the relation between the conversation rate of parents and nurturing is explained.

Next, even if the conclusion that Dr. Field has drawn is false, it would be unsound to argue that his methods of study is wrong as well. The observation method - even if it may have failed in studying Tertia culture - may be a pertinent method when studying Hawaian culture which is another island with a distinct culture: the method may have failed because of the extraordinary state of Tertia. In addition, Dr. Field might have used this method because it is a prominent one, already used by fellow anthropologists, and is already held as a norm when studying customs of alienated districts. Consequently, concluding the methodology wrong due to the wrong conclusion it draws is also a logical pitfall.

Finally, Dr. Karp fails to address the advantages of using a interview based study. The interview based study could result in the interviewee to shun away and lie about their culture because of the fear of disclosing secrets about their tradition. Furthermore, the interviewer's own opinion about the village may hinder in reporting and researching about the district. Hence, Dr. Karp should supply solid ground for his allegiance that a interview based study will result in a better understanding of the village. Also, he should be able to give reasons why he can generalize the results into cases of other islands since they may be different from each other.

In conclusion, Dr. Karp fails to prove that talking about parents means that they are responsible for raising them, and a wrong conclusion means a wrong method. Last but not least, he should provide additional information about his method of research and why it would be more affective.