Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is important for teachers to transcend knowledge to their pupils but, they should also encourage learning by emphasizing why they should learn. Students may be indifferent to knowledge when it seems unrelated to the fields or the real world and thus motivating them would be important. However, it is also true that education is the process of teaching information and this essence should not be overlooked.

Admittedly, pouring information into a student may be the least efficient way of teaching. Facts can be learned through the internet or by going to the library. Knowing more does not mean a deeper understanding of a subject, and these knowledges if not used will disappear into the oblivion if not utilized frequently. Hence, evaluation based on facts will be futile. For instance, history classes will not have a significant purpose if it tests students of facts such as the years certain happenings occured: testing them if they understand the interconnections between those situations would be the accurate way of assessment.

Furthermore, when a student understands the current trends and applications of a subject, they may be invigorated enhancing the learning environment. Without the background ideas of a subject, some students may object why they should learn such discipline. In addition, when sent the fields they may perform better compared to whom have simply accumulated facts about the subject because they understand the overall picture. For instance, a student understanding why they should learn transistors will be able to focus and apply the knowledge better than a student absent mindedly memorizing it's mechanics when working for a company. That is why companies like Samsung will ask wholesome questions instead of specific ones when interviewing applicants.

Nevertheless, there are some subjects that require facts to understand the trends and ideas. When learning language, without learning the basic vocabulary you will not be able to advance further in learning because of your incompetence to form sentences. Therefore, some parts of education ask concrete facts as a prerequisite and thus, educators should appraise their students based on the knowledge. That is why english teachers always takes vocab test: they want to ensure that you are learning the prerequisites of the language.

In conclusion, even though learning facts will be meaningless when it doesn't underscore it's applications and trends, learning facts is also important as well. Hence, teachers should discern what is more appropriate for the subject they are teaching and adapt their assessments to it.