In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays we are exposed to various types of media and artistic productions. And it is quite evident that to become renown and for a piece to disseminate through various cultures, a piece of art should be comprehensible. However, even the most absurd and ambiguous creations of an artist may possess great value and it is these pieces that will be remembered through history.

First of all, for an artistic creation to become famous and earn money, it should appeal to the taste of the crowd. Pieces requiring profound knowledge to understand will possibly bore the audience and thus will likely to be overlooked. In addition, especially in the movies and music disciplines, piquant types of creations are likely to stimulate the crowd to watch or listen to their productions. For instance, the public will likely listen to Eminem, instead of Mozart because it entails more enthusiasm and emotions if you are not a trained listener with a profound taste in classics. Also, the fame and profit made the by Avengers show that even though the film is jubilant and the story doesn't contain many twists, the public tend to watch the movie and perceive it as a great pass-time.

Nevertheless, it would be wrong to assert that arts and music that does not catch the attention of the crowd does not contain artistic values inside them. Creators wanting to express themselves and their views may provide productions that may seem recondite to our views. However, it doesn't mean that the artistic quality and ingeniousness doesn't exist. Although it may take time to recognize the true values inherent in these creations, it may someday be admired. For instance, Picasso's portraits of himself seemed abnormal to most people in that era, but his pictures are one of the most praised creations that are held as innovative between contemporary artists. In addition, the famous Van Gogh, who wasn't able to sell one picture during his entire lifetime, now has a museum dedicated to his arts as a representation of reverence. Hence, it would be hasty to argue that any piece of art is not worthy of veneration simply because it is not popular.

Finally, sometimes productions that enjoy popularity sometimes disappear into the oblivion if it actually lacks artistic values. Sometimes there are arts and music that stimulates the public but, by using sensational flavor. However, to be constantly reminisced, an artifact should contain some idiosyncratic quality that others cannot imagine. As an example, although Avengers was highly successful in the market, it is unlikely to be watched over time like the classics or Mozart or Bach. This is because the movie only focused on commercial success and doesn't contain innovative ideas about the movie production process itself.

In conclusion, although fame and commercial success requires a public attention, the lack of popularity does not necessarily mean the failure of the art. Rather, it is the new views of the art itself that makes the creations last.