In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People are making contributions to their area of expertise and the society in several

respects. In some instances, imagination plays a bigger role than experience.

However, in other cases, there are areas where, no matter how creative it is, the role of

imagination cannot subvert that of experience. Additionally, both imagination and

experience can make an equal contribution to an achievement.

Established habits and attitudes may become hindrances to those who want to contribute

to society. It may become hard to think out of the box with already fixed

habits. This is especially true in the field of art and design. In the late 1860s, as early as

his twenties, Claude Monet rejected the accepted art style exhibited at the Salon de Paris,

the greatest annual event at that time. In the era when outdoor painting was rare, Monet

enjoyed painting outdoors and used revolutionary techniques. Monet’s new style of

painting attracted the public so quickly as to be successful of starting his own exhibition

along with a few like-minded artists. This new art movement is called impressionism. If

Monet had adhered to the established painting techniques at that time, no such

innovative paintings would be handed down to today.

On the other hand, there are calls for situations where experience is of great

necessity. Decisions just based on imagination might bring disastrous results. When

America was suffering from a hideous inflation problem, President Jimmy Carter

appointed Paul Volcker as Chairman of the Federal Reserve Bank in 1979. As soon as

Volcker took on the role, he took several measures such as letting the target federal fund

rate to over 20% and unemployment to double digits. Although he faced a great amount

of opposition, Chairman Volcker was steadfast with his policies. The American economy

did suffer for another three years but made the runway to substantial growth in the 1980s

and 90s. It would not be possible for Paul Volcker, who had almost 30 years of

experience in the financial industry, to be praised as the man who quelled inflation if he

based his decision on imagination. In this regard, previous experience is crucial in making

a great contributions.

Moreover, there are cases where imagination and experience create a synergy. They

could complement each other in a way that imagination based on experience leads to

innovation in business fields. This is what is happening at Tesla Motors. Although Elon

Musk, chairman of Tesla, had no previous knowledge of automobiles, his vision of

changing the fundamental infrastructure of energy led him to be the first to successfully

launched and commercialized electrical cars. Furthermore, along the process of

developing more efficient batteries for these electric cars, Musk and a group of scientists

introduced home batteries for storing solar energy to use for electricity. Elon Musk’s vision

coupled with the expertise of a group of scientists has made a significant contribution to

the daily usage of energy in people’s lives by propagating the using of solar energy.

All in all, imagination can contribute more significantly than experience in certain areas

that place more importance in creativity. Contrarily, when it comes to specialized fields

such as economic policies, novices can hardly do much for these fields than can experts.