The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo claims that Delany is superior to Walsh because 8 years ago while using Walsh, the fired worker had difficulty finding new jobs, Delany is a bigger company comprised of more staffs and offices, and finally that the average time to find new jobs are shorter for clients of the Delany compared to the clients of Walsh. However, these assertions lack evidence and to further support these, there should be additional evidence. There should be supporting details that the economic situation and the company situation of Walsh is similar to 8 years ago, and that the larger number of staffs are all proficient in their jobs and finally, that the time to find a new job certainly portrays the superiority of Delany over Walsh.

First of all, the author's argument that because Walsh's performance 8 years was poor it will be also poor today does not seem sound. 8 years ago, there is the possibility that the economy as a whole was in a time of depression and thus it was close to impossible to find new jobs. If could be thought that even with this kind of economic difficulty, the Walsh has succeeded in finding new jobs for half of their clients. Also, there might also be the possibility that even though Walsh wasn't a successful enterprise in the past, it might have adapted new corporate policy and changed the strategies that they use for their customer's employment. Therefore, it would be rash to conclude that Walsh today is the same kind of corporation that it was 8 years ago.

Next, the memo assumes that since Delany is a bigger corporation, it will provide better services. On the other hand, this presumption may not be sound because there is also the possibility that Walsh provides concentrated and personalized care to their few customers while Delany being a big company, just uses a unified strategy for all their customers. Since the people utilizing Walsh receive special care, they may be more successful in finding new opportunities that are more suitable to their personalities. Therefore, not only Walsh may be competent at searching new job opportunities, the satisfaction after finding the jobs may be higher too. Hence, the memo requires additional information about Delany's staff and offices and how they work to provide better services compared to Walsh.

Last but not least, the time required to find new vocations are not the only measure to be considered as the company's abilities. For example, even though Walsh takes an average of 9 months for their clients to find new jobs, it may take longer because they need extra time to find better vocations more suitable for the client. In contrast, Delany may only concentrate on the speed of employment and works hastily without considering the needs of the customer.

In conclusion, the author needs to provided supplementary evidence that the situation from 8 years ago are similar with the contemporary situation, that the large number of staffs are indeed doing their jobs in a specialized manner, and finally that Delany finds high quality occupations in shorter time than the Walsh institution.