Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

In contemporary society, legislations are made to protect us from harm, or prevent ourselves from negative behaviors such as stealing. However, because laws circumscribe our actions by censuring us rather than enlightening us, it would not alter our convictions.

Admittedly, because of the fear of infringement of the constitution, we sometimes inhibit our deepest avarice and thus the society is remained serene. For instance, before the legislation of the Kim Young Lan Law, politician were venal and there was numerous instances of lobbing between them and mass corporations. However, after this law- which severely punishes anyone who are in a prominent position and receive a gift costing more than $5s - was legislated, the Korean government has become more transparent compared to the past due to the fear of this law. Hence, it is lucid that laws do obviates some social issues.

Nevertheless, because the laws restrict our behaviors by the means of punishment rather than by enlightening us, our nature does not change. Even though politician, major announcers, revered professors are resisting to be corrupted by the Kim Young Lan Law, their cravenness for a higher position, or money will not be mitigated. Therefore, they might be on the look for a chance to transgress this law and receive some kind of benefit like the former president Lee: he was caught violating this anti-corruption law by accepting a Rolex watch from Samsung. Consequently, although laws may inhibit our behavior, it cannot truly change our minds.

Furthermore, laws are not the main influence when it comes to forming one's characters. Although, it inhibits our behaviors, it is the natural or social environment that has a prominent effect on our traits. For instance, a girl raised to be honest and kind by her parents presents a decorous behavior not because of the law inhibits it, but because of the family education she has received from her childhood. In addition, Chinese sages name Kong and Soon debated over the natural instinct of humans: whether people are born as genuine or as evil. Even though the notion of inborn good or bad does not make total sense, from it we can infer that the characteristics of humans are determined by the milieu around them, not by the law itself.

In conclusion, although it is sound to asseverate that legislations guide us to be civilians, it does not change our morals. In contrast, our morals and convictions are formed by our surroundings not by the constitution.