Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

By participating in the society, educators can get a better grasp of how the discipline is used in the contemporary society, thus leading to a enhanced quality of education. However, we should discern between the practices that indeed require a sense in the practice and others that are only based on theory. In addition, we also need to consider the possibility that professors spending time outside the institution will debilitate the time they spend with their pupils.

Admittedly, in fields such as science technology, social studies, economics and business, it is hard to deny the understanding of the contemporary situation. Students and professors cannot be stagnated by the old knowledge and studies, rather they should be constantly updated by the practical situation of the industry. For instance, if a electronic engineering professor simply harps about BJTs which is a technology that have become extinct, it will be of no benefit to the students because the knowledge will be of no use. Also, a educator studying psychology will need to engage with the outside world since people change as society changes. Hence there are some subjects where the education of both the contemporary situation and the knowledge of the past is both important.

Nevertheless, we should be judicious about which subjects do not require outside knowledge about the field. Studies that rely mostly on theory such as philosophy or humanities will not be affected by the instructor's knowledge about the current situation. Humanities for example is a major that is dependent on the interpretation of own's ideas and thoughts, rather than the facilities it can bring to the world. Therefore, it is important for instructors to teach these methods of interpretation within the class rather than teaching about the current situation: which will be interpreted differently by individuals anyway.

Finally, if the faculty works in the outside world, it might hinder their focus towards that classes and the students. By having to put extra effort and thought into the industries, they will get tired and will have less time to allocate for the preparation of classes. This may lead to a unorganized classes, and thus may confound the students: learning both the knowledge of the past and the practice of the current situation should be carefully organized. As a engineering department student, there was a professor who was very enthusiastic about this field, which was image processing, and wanted the students to be able to perform coding on those disciplines to the level of himself and this frustrated many students. Consequently, the results of deprivation of the time professors spend on classes should be considered before they participate in contemporary fields.

In conclusion, educators that require current knowledge and those who doesn't should be discriminated to enhance a effective educational environment. Also, the effect of less endeavor spent on the classes should be also take into consideration.