It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Major districts are a prime source that preserves a nation's culture. However, not only major cities but also rural areas practice their own traditions and culture. In addition, only a part of a country cannot be thought as constituting the entire convention of a nation.

Admittedly, it is inevitable that major cities are a big foundation of ancient culture such as Seoul in Korea, and Rome in Italy. Seoul being a capital of Korea for over 600 years, contains numerous traditional artifacts and buildings like the Kyung-Bok palace. In addition, 30% of the population is residing in Seoul, so to feel the core convention of Korea, tourists usually visit Seoul. Also, Rome famous for being a capital for over 1000 years also is filled with ancient buildings such as the Colosseum and the government of Italy allots a part of the national budget in order to preserve these national monuments. Hence, to taste and feel the country it would be wise to visit it's major city.

Nevertheless, the major cities are not the only districts that have historic monuments. In KyungJu, a suburb area in Korea, used to the capital of Shilla. Shilla was lasted for over 500 years and was famous for it's luxurious arts and crafts. Today in KyungJu, you can visit artificial lakes designed for emperors of the era, and various museums that exhibit endless Shilla artifacts exhumed from old graves. Also, you can experience the tradition of Shilla because the people there still practice the old culture of the extinct nation. Hence, it would be hasty of conclude that the nation's main culture is from the major cities.

Finally, the culture cannot be defined as only the part of the countries area. It consists of all the traditions and practice, significant or not. The Korean culture is not only defined by Seoul or KyungJu, but by the aggregated culture of all the area's inside the land. Traveling only to Seoul would be wrong to experience Korea as a whole: because the Korean culture is a iridescent mixture of all the traditions of the territory. The same analogy can be applied to any country. Italy for example, has it's own mixture of cultures from different areas. Venice for example, exhibits a different form of living and traits compared to Rome - all these traits are the part of Italy. Consequently, a single province would never be able to represent the whole nation.

In conclusion, it is lucid that representative provinces present major sources of traditions, small alienated areas also contain idiosyncratic actions. Furthermore, the mixture of all these customs constitute the nation's characteristics.