It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In my view, there is some truth in the statement that a nation’s culture is preserved in the cities. But I would prefer to qualify the statement by contending that much of a nation’s culture is generated in the small villages and towns in different parts of the country. So, I would maintain that small villages and towns are the primary source of a nation’s culture.

Firstly, let’s examine the merit in the given statement. People from all parts of the country travel to major cities in search of better livelihood and settle there. These people also bring their culture along with them to the cities. So one could say that major cities give us a glimpse of many neighbouring regions. An example of such a city is Delhi. People from almost all states of India are settled in Delhi, especially from the neighbouring states like Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana.

Thus we see a rich Punjabi influence in the cuisines in Delhi. In old Delhi area, influence of the Mughal rule can be observed in the food and the buildings. Also, throughout Delhi we can find a Haryanvi dialect. This makes Delhi a salient example of a culturally rich city.

But while discussing culture in the cities, we have overlooked the fact that villages and small towns also have an equally rich culture, although they usually don’t have a mix and match of cultures. The bucolic life of the countryside is a rich culture in itself and is somewhat different from the cities. So, it would be wrong to say that cities are the “primary source” of a nation’s culture. Infact, much of the city culture that the writer of the statement talks about, is actually “generated” in the villages and small towns in neighbouring regions. Another important point to consider is that it is usually the major cosmopolitian cities that are heavily influenced by global culture (western culture in case of Delhi). So they are at a greater risk of diluting the nation’s own culture. Whereas villages and small towns are somewhat resilient to outside influence and they preserve the nation’s culture better.

In essence, it is correct that cities offer a glimpse into the various cultures of a nation. But these cultures usually have rustic origins and are better preserved in an undiluted form in the countryside.