A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A nation should have a curriculum for school students which comprises of some common fundamental subjects and a few additional optional subjects.

At such a young age, it is difficult for students in school to choose a field of interest in which they can work for years to come. So it makes sense to have a pool of common subjects which intoduces them to fundamentals of various fields like history, literature, chemistry, physics etc. This will give the students a first hand experience in various fileds and help them decide their field of specialization.

For instance, if a young student feels that he enjoys history and continues to study related subjects, he might not have a chance to consider english literature as his major subject in college, even though he might have enjoyed it even more. He might regret this, if he realizes later that he loved english literature even more than history.

Even if a student has a fair idea of his field of higher study, he/she should still get auainted with other basic subjects like mathematics, chemistry, physics, geography etc, so that he/she will have a broad horizon while working in a particular field. A well rounded, well read person should have fair idea about multiple domains. There is no field of work which requires absolutely no knowledge of other fields. Thus having a broader horizon will always be beneficial for the student.

In any case, there is no hurry to delve deep in one filed in school as there will be plenty of time in college for that purpose. Also besides having some common compulsory subjects, schools can have few additional optional subjects like musical intruments, carpentary, painting etc which the student can chosse based on his/her interest.

To summarize, having a common curriculum comprising of fundamentals of various fields is good for students.