The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation letter asserts that by limiting the water flow of the building through all floors, it will result in a increase in the profit of the company. However, this argument is not sound and will need to provide supplementary information to further support the ideas.

First of all, it does not sound logical that a inhibition of water flow will result in a decrease in the total water usage. Residents may use the same amount of water simply by using it for a longer time. Since the water flowing out of the faucet is limited, it may take a longer time to rinse or get rid of all the soap when taking a shower. Consequently, to further support the notion, the author should answer the question of whether the time spent using the water supply remains similar to the original case: if the times are similar indeed, the restricted water flux will result in a frugal usage of water.

Next, until now the new showerheads were only installed in the first 5 layer of the building and there were only minor complaints regarding low water pressure. However, generalizing the situation to the entire building may be pernicious since water pressure will continue to drop with elevation because water pressure is analogous to air pressure: the higher we go, the lower it gets. Therefore, if the passage provides alternative methods to mitigate the low water pressure in the high levels of the building, it would be more cogent. Unless, the author might have to face unprecedented amounts of claims toward the new showerheads.

Finally, the passage needs to clarify the correlation between the profit and the amount of water usage. Although it is possible that the corporation will be able to cut expenses if the water usage declines, but the prices of showerheads may exceed the amount of savings: if the residents are people who are aware of environmental issues and thus use water thriftly, the amount of savings made by the water expenses will not be significant. However, if the residents were prodigal when using water, and took prolonged time to take a shower, the exchange of showerheads to save water may be an plausible solution to the problem. Nevertheless, the relation between profit and water should be elaborated more closely.

In conclusion, for the writing to become more logical, it should prove that a hindering water flow will result in a abated water usage, and water pressure is homogeneous within the building, and finally that profit is strongly tied up with overall water usage.