When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating resumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less-expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine.

Recently, the XYZ comany has proposed to shift from Delany Personnel Firm to Walsh Personnel Firm. The reasoning for this decision being the less expenditure involved with the later. However, the author states that this proposal could be a mistake considering the previous throughput of Walsh Personnel Firm as well as the superiority of Delany over Walsh. However, these conclusions made by the author seem flawed due to the insubstantiated claims and vaguely analysed statistics.

The arguement of the author regarding the experiences with Walsh eight years ago, fails to be a compelling reason in the present case. Firstly, the data stating that only half number of employees found job within a year does not allow for an absolute comparison between the two cases. In order to have a fair comparison, the actual numbers of employees laid off and those who found jobs need to be looked into. Even then, one cannot neglect the effect of other external factors such as financial market, sector demands and economy of the nation on the job opportunities. Such factors vary substantialy with time and hence they could be one of the resons leading to possibly lesser job opportunities eight years ago.

Another argument of the author stating Delany to be a superior company based on a greater workforce and numerous branches is quite vague. The superiority or excellency of a company is determined by many factors including its profits, staff satisfaction, stock prices and many others. By avioiding these relevant factors in determining the status of Dlany Firm, the author has failed to make a clear judgement.

In order to make these conclusions more accurate, the author needs to back up the observations with significant data. The calculation of average number of months taken by a Delany client should be based on a large set of data.

In conclusion, the analysis made by the author is currently based on skewed factors and for a proper judgement one needs to bring in the effect of many other factors.