Seven years ago, homeowners in nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community's yards should be landscaped and what colors the exteriors of homes should be painted. Since then, average property values have tripled in Brookville. In order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres, we should adopt our own set of restrictions on landscaping and house painting.

The given argument brings out the fact that the average property values have tripled in Brookville over the last seven years. There may be numerous reasons for this steady escalation in property values. The rise in the average property values may not necessarily be an outcome of the efforts put in for landscaping community's yards and deliberating upon the colors of the exteriors of homes. The importance of paying attention to details like landscaping of lawns and house painting may add to the scenic beauty of the community as seen by an outsider, but that alone does not suffice as a reason for the rise in property values.

The argument is weakened by the existence of several factors that may have directly or indirectly affected the average property values of the Brookville community in the last seven years. The location of the community is a compelling reason for a substantial increase in the property rates. Proximity to shopping centers, airport, railway stations and bus stands is a deciding factor for such an increase. Rise in property rates of a particular area may also be attributed to infrastructural development over a period of time. Such development may include establishment of civic amenities like hospitals, schools and roads. Infrastructural developments attract leading companies to open factories and outlets in the vicinity of the community leading to an increase in job opportunities. All these factors in addition to the security situation prevalent in the area may be responsible for escalation of property prices.

The situation with respect to the homeowners in Brookville community may have been different seven years ago and adopting the same set of restrictions in the present time does not imply a similar effect on the property values in Deerhaven Acres. The argument could have been substantiated with additional evidence in support of the claim that the rise in property values was a direct implication of the set of restrictions adopted by the home owners in the Brookville community. However, one cannot ignore the other factors, highlighted in the previous paragraph, which may directly or indirectly play a significant role in the appreciation of property values of the Brookville community. The given argument could have been further strengthened if the writer had mentioned landscaping of lawns and house painting as one of the probable reasons for the growth in property values instead of citing it as the only reason or if he had made a fleeting reference to the other factors affecting escalation of property values. In its present form, the argument is unconvincing due to lack of substantial logic in support of its claim.