The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum by the owner of the Movies Galore, he/she suggests reducing the operating expenses at the ten movie-rental stores. The decision is taken with the view of coping up with the declining profits. However, the decision by the owner is based on several underlying assumptions and it reveals quite a few instances of poor reasoning and manipulation of facts. Thoughtful review of the arguments expose that they provide little credible support to the claims of the owner. Hence, the argument is incomplete and should not be brought to practice without due consideration.

Rather than figuring out the ultimate causes of declining profits, the owner chooses to reduce the operating costs. Also, the contribution of each of the ten stores in the profits or towards declining profits is unclear. It is probable that only the stores in some areas are prone to reduced customer interactions. Numerous external factors can influence the customers from refraining to rent movies from such stores. One of them could be the coming up of a new movie-rental store in the locality. Since the new store offers better deals, the customers are drawn towards it more than the old stores. Moreover, the rising trend of multiplexes also prevents the local people from renting movies and rather enjoying watching them in theatres. Hence, without accounting for these factors, the owner cannot put the onus of declining profits on the operating expenses.

Still, the owner has implemented this strategy in one of the stores in downtown Marston. He/she argues that reducing the operating hours from 9 pm to 6 pm has not led to any customer complaints. However, there is no mention of the effect of this decision on the problem at the disposal i.e. the declining profits. In addition, the impact of reducing the overall inventory by no longer storing DVDs older than five years is not clearly articulated. Although these new policies didn't lead to customers complaints in this area, one cannot expect similar results in other areas. What if the customer in this area were mainly young people who are not interested in watching old movies? What if the people in this locality are retiring early in the evening? Although these characteristics of the customers in helping the movie-rental store in the downtown Marston, it cannot be taken for granted for all the other areas.

Lastly, the owner concludes that based on his/her arguments, the strategies mentioned by him/her are the best strategies for improving the profits. Without a diligent analysis of all the external and internal influencing reasons for declining profits, the owner is at a fault in calling it the 'best' solution. If there are no other solutions brought to the table, there is nothing that challenges this solution.

In conclusion, the strategies provided by the owner is unpersuasive due to aforementioned reasons. To further substantiate it, a comprehensive analysis must be carried out by considering all the impacting factors. The owner can convince me with his solution for declining profits only after providing a more reliable data and statistics for all the ten stores before and after the implementation of the new policies.