The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the letter sent to the editor is convinced that athletic competition for chilren below the age of nine is full of disadvantages. His/Her views are based on the interviews of soccer players and the arguments of educational experts. However, the author fails to acknowledge the vagueness of the conclusions drawn by these studies.

Firstly, the argument suggesting an increase in the injuries of young players due to participation in youth-league sports is flaweed. Although the assumption is that the injuries are due to sports, there is no patent proof of the same. What if the children got injured due to their carelessness? Another important factor is the availability of properly maintained grounds to play these games. What if the authorities had not anticipated this surge in the participants? This could have led to poor maintainence of the grounds making them more susceptible for injury causing accidents.

Another argument made by the author is derived from the recent interviews of the players. However, even though the interviews are taken only in the major cities, the assumption is made for the entire nation. It is highly possible that the parental and coach pressures are only found in the major cities and not throughout the nation. Also to confirm this notion, we need to first know about the number of children that were interviewed. What if only a handful of young atheletes talked about this psychological pressure?

In addition to these views, author is convinced about the point raised by educational experts regarding loss in the time for academic activities. However, to claim this, one should be first aware about the academic activities that are being held. Also, were these activities held even before these practice sessions hampered them? If yes, then what kind of participation was observed among the students? Since the author assumes that children did participate in these activities prior to alloting their time for practice sessions, the argument fails if the children were never showing enthusiam for the same. In that case, an introspection in needed for enhacing the appeal of the academic activities to ensure larger participation.

Due to these discrepancies, the author fails to convince me that atheletic activities are diadavantageous for the young children. On the other hand, the key factors responsible for the issues mentioned by him/her should be carefully looked into.