The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that the athletic competitions organized in the town of parkville to be stopped. Furthermore, these competitions are held responsible for the bad results in academics for the various students.The argument would have been much clearer if it would have included facts and details about the survey done on the students of parkville because it could have helped to test the situation more easily.

Firstly, the argument states that the children below age of nine participated in youth league sports and over 40,000 of them suffered injuries. By solely considering only this fact there cannot be any decision made by the people in parkville because based on this there can be no relation that can be established. There is no firm survey or any report that proves that out of 40,000 young students injured during the sports events how many were from parkville. Just by discontinuing the events, it is not healthy to take opportunity from the students. Sports is very much essential for teaching students discipline and teamwork. In addition to that, it also helps in the overall personality development and if students are performing outstandingly well they can represent the country at national and international levels and can win medals for the country.

Secondly, the argument mentions about the pressure handled by youth league soccer players exerted by the coaches and parents to win the game. This claim is also very weak as the author does not mention the details of the cities in which the students were interviewed. there is also possibility that not a single child from the city of parkville has been interviewed and just depending on the reasons stated in the argument students will be deprived from the great chances they can get to build their career in the field of sports.

Thirdly, the authors claim about the long practice sessions for sports taking time for academic activities also appears to be very weak. In addition to this claim if the author would have provided some survey report that mentions the degradation in the academic performances of the students who constantly take part in sports event would have been very helpful to evaluate the situation.

In the conclusion, I would just like to add the point that if the author would have included details about the students of city of parkville relating to the number of students participated in the sports events and how many got injured then this would have helped to evaluate the situation more easily. In addition to these details if author would have also included interview experience of students of city in various issues then there would have been no conflict in deciding the outcome. So, in my opinion in the absence of these details the argument remains weak and is open for debate.