The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo, the author has mentioned several arguments that needs to be considered and evaluated in order to construct new dormitories in the Buckingham college and these arguments are increasing enrolment, expensive off-campus housing and attracting more students using newly built dormitories.

Firstly, the argument by the author about the need for the new dormitory is stated as the increasing enrolment which will get doubled in the next 50 years. But to support this argument author has not conducted any proper survey that shows the gradual increase in the number of enrolments every year. If the author would have provided with some kind of survey it would have helped to make the argument strong.

Secondly, the argument stated by author that the off-campus housing are expensive as compared to the on-campus housing facilities will lead to the outcome for students opting for on-campus accommodation facilities. This argument cannot be taken for granted because there needs to be detailed survey about the student’s views on whether they prefer living in on-campus accommodation. Most of the students in todays world wants privacy and their own space. So, probably a survey might be a better option which can provide a strong evidence for this argument.

In the conclusion, I would just like to consider the last argument that the new dormitories will help in attracting more students to the college. This claim by the author is baseless, as any of the students opting for a college would have his foremost priority about the course which he wants to opt and how good are the professors in the college instead of looking for accommodation at the first place. So, according to me the final argument of author cannot be considered for evaluation of the situation for the construction of new dormitories.