The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo, the director argues that Buckingham college should build a number of new dormitories to serve the housing needs of the students. Although this argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

first, the director needs to provide solid evidence on inadequate dormitory space as growing buckingham’s enrollment. it is possible that growing buckingham’s enrollment will not double over the next 50 years. it is just a prediction, so there might be no increasing of enrollment. Though buckingham’s enrollment will grow, even double in the following years, it is plausible that some students of the college do not need dormitories. Indeed, the number of students who need dormitories does not equal to the number of students who enroll the college. Thus, enrollment may not be growing, and more enrollment might not make existing dormitory space inadequate.

Second, the director needs to add concrete evidence on students’ difficulty by increasing apartment rent. it is possible that some students live with their family in the town. Then, they might not need to live in the dormitory and pay for apartment rent. they might not be difficult to afford off-campus housing. even if students live alone in the apartment in the town, it is likely that they receive scholarship from the college or earn allowance from their parents. they also may not be hard to afford off-campus housing. Therefore, increasing apartment rent may be irrelevant to difficulty of students who live off the campus.

Lastly, more evidence is needed on the soundness of the conclusion that attractive new dormitories yield increasing enrollment of prospective students. In all likelihood, some students do not need dormitories as the circumstances stated above. they might be indifferent to the attractive new dormitories. In addition, it is entirely possible that students are not fascinated by good dormitories, but are fascinated by helpful education of the college or research environment of the college. they may consider education more important than dormitories when they choose colleges. In other words, attractive new dormitories might not be helpful for more enrollment.

In summary, the director’s claim is unconvincing on many grounds. To bolster the argument, the director needs to provide pieces of specific evidence on good effects of new dormitories.