claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

In our society, trusting everything could be adverse. I disagree with the claim since not any fact should be mistrusted; however, I agree with the reason that much information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Granted, some information could be mistrusted because it may well be proven false in the future. For example, long ago, the Catholic Church adamantly believed in geocentricism, the notion that the Earth was the center of the universe. although this information was factual at that time, later Nicolaus copernicus proved the heliocentric model, the concept that the sun is located at the center of the world. since the fact was mistrusted, copernicus was able to inculcate others with the truth. he sis not take facts at face value, so he rectified a misconception in the science community. Therefore, some facts should be mistrusted.

although facts can be erroneous at times, not all pieces of information should be mistrusted. To illustrate, the basic fundamentals of mathematics are facts that should not be denounced. fundamentals, such as addition and subtraction, are concepts that students memorize and apply in their studies. this is because they are factual and the foundation for advanced studies. If students mistrust any information, it would undermine the authority of teachings and hamper their learning progress. mistrusting any fact can take toll on society.

Moreover, the author’s reason is valid because much information that people assume is factual actually is inaccurate. For many decades, many people believed that human flight was impossible. however, the Wright brothers later proved that this concept was inaccurate by designing an airplane with a strong engine, wings and propellers. since they assumed that many pieces of information were not accurate, people are able to enjoy cutting-edge technology and live much more convenient lives. thus, many so-called facts can be inaccurate and disproven.

In summary, although much information may be inaccurate, not any piece of information should be mistrusted. thus, people should go the extra mile to discover the truth.