When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this passage, the author argues that Stanly Park needs to provide more benches to make the park heavily used. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the unwarranted assumptions lead me to question the validity of the argument.

First, the author assumes that the recordings of video cameras mounted in the Stanley Park’s parking lots last month indicates the park’s drop in popularity. It is possible that average of 50 cars per day is not minute. The number of people in the town may have been minute, and thus, 50 cars per day may be significant. Also, each car might bring up to four people to the park. Even if 50 cars per day is marginal, the recordings on last month might not be lasting for the following months. Indeed, the recordings might not reveal the park’s drop in popularity.

Another assumption by the author is that Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday, so Carlton Park is more popular than Stanly Park. It is plausible that the number of people in the business district is substantial, so 150 people are negligible. In addition, the results are only on a typical weekday. It is likely that people in the business district go to the park on a weekday, so there might be less people than those in Stanley Park on a whole week.

Lastly, the author assumes that an obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating, so Stanley Park needs to provide more benches at the unused open areas. Even if Carlton Park is popular than Stanley Park, the reason might not be more ample seating. Carlton Park may provide other attractions, such as health devices, more trees, more amusements, and more tracks. Also, more benches might not help Stanley Park because people may not be interested in walking and just want to work out or play badminton with their children. Stanley Park doesn’t need to convert the unused open areas into socializing spaces.

In brief, the author’s claim is unconvincing on many grounds. To bolster the argument, he should rethink his assumptions.