The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this recommendation, the author argues that climpson industries should implement electronic monitoring of employees’ internet use from their workstations to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. Although the argument seems convincing at first, the author has to provide more evidence for the validity of the argument.

first, the author needs to provide solid evidence on causal relationship between punishing employees who use the internet inappropriately and reduction of the number of work hours spent on personal activities. if climpson industries punish the employees, they may spend their time on other inappropriate things without the internet like reading books and useless conversations with coworkers. personal activities that employees can do are various even without internet. it may not be what climpson industries expect as a result of the punishment.

Second, the author needs to supplement the argument with specific evidence that installing software on company computers to detect employees’ internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. it is plausible that another way is better to prevent employees from wasting time: such as forbidding other sites not involved the work and promising incentives for the work performance. These ways may be also helpful, even better than installing detecting software to prevent employees from wasting time.

Lastly, the author needs to add concrete evidence to the argument that installing the monitoring software will foster a better work ethic at climpson and improve overall profits. it is possible that monitoring and punishing employees demoralizes them. Then employees’ work efficiency might decrease and it means that installing does not foster a better work ethic. even if installing the monitoring software will foster a better work ethic, it is likely that installing does not improve overall profits because expense for installing can override income by employees having a better work ethic. In addition, a better work ethic might not yield more income. So, installing the monitoring software may not be a good way for improvement of profits.

In conclusion, the author's claim is unsound on many grounds. Thus, he should add evidence on good effects of electronic monitoring of employees’ internet use.