The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president."In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from thei

In this statement, the vice president recommends to the boss of Climpson Industries that they should install software to monitor their staffs' using of the Internet, hence they could foster a better work ethnic and the overall profits of the company will increase by this way. To support his idea, the vice president tells us what this monitoring will favor the company. While there are some loopholes in this statements, the conslusion given by the vice president is not well supported by his analyzation and evidence. We should evalutate them carefully.

To begin with, whether the employees are using the Internet for individual reasons is not mentioned in this statement. To make it clear the vice president should make an observation to their staffs to find out this case. Then, if there is the case we discussed, the author should make clear how many people take in the part of all staffs misusing the Internet at work generally. It is important to find how serious this case happening in the company. Maybe this is a trivial problem that happened on minority staff which should not attract so many attentions.

Then let's go on, in the case of there is the problem that not a few of people were using the Internet at work. The choice of the vice president is monitroing all of them. So there is another effect on the people who work so hard that they do nothing just working in the company will feel uncomfortable by this survaillance. On the other hand, if the these undisciplined people was monitored by computer software, they could use cellphone or individual laptop to surf the Internet for shopping or playing games if they want. In this case, the idea of install software failed.Let alone the fostering the ethnic at the company. What's more, if the punishment of inappropeately using the Internet takes place, there will be an opposite effect which destroy the working passion of the staffs in a high possiblity, I an sure that is not what the vice-president want to see.

So it would not be a best choice of improving the staffs' working atittude by this monitoring which represent some kind of untrustable consideration of the staffs.

Finally, the vice president wants to improve their overall profits by this monitoring. But it would not bring the author the increasing profits because there are lots of cases related to the profits of a company. Firstly, the produts' competetiveness in the market is significant for a company which could determine the profits of them. Secondly, the Advertisements which could let more people know your products or services, that is the common method of increasing the profits. Thirldy it comes with the gifts and working passion of staffs in the company which should be prasied by the boss instead of punishments. So if the monitoring software and punishiment measures practice in this company, the result would be unprdeictable while to me I belive it would be a disaster of trust between the leadership and workers.

In conclusion, the suggestion is not well supported by the author's analyzation and evidences. I belive this monitoring software would not bring the high profits to the company, there would not be a forstered good work ethinic in this company.