Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt suggeststhat leaders who are easily influenced by shfits in popular opinion with accomplish little. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this statement and argue that there are cases where this statement may or may not hold true for three reaons.

Some may argue that having an authoritarian leader, one who is not easily influenced by popular opinions, is more beneficial for a country. Leaders are sometimes dealth with the responsibility of make difficult decisions and the ‘correct’ decision may not align with the desires of the public. Take for instance, the current COVID-19 pandemic which has resulted in the government’s decision to go into lock down. Many people disagree with the government’s decision as they wish to continue their regular routine, however, it is necessary for the long-term preservation of many lives and the country.

Contrary to the prompt’s suggestion, it can sometimes be beneficial to have a leader who is open-minded and accepts shifts in popular opinion. The perspectives and values of people tend to change over-time – this is a continuous, natural process that allows for improvements in a society. That being said, having an authoritative leader would be detrimental to this process, as the denial of popular opinion would essentially strip citizens of their democratic rights. For example, in the past, people of colour were seen as inferior beings. However, public opinion has shifted towards an ideology that contradicts previous beliefs, as people now fight for equality for every race. This example demonstrates the detrimental impact on a society that has a rigid leader, as their unwillingness to conform to popular opinion would hinder progressiveness within a country.

Another example illustrating the disadvantages of a rigid leader would be through history. Adolf Hitler formed a Nazi army with intentions of eliminating the existance of all Jewish decent. Those who contested Hitler’s goals were executed. As a result, although many other’s disagreed with his ideology, they remained silent out of fear for their safety. This example demonstrates the consequences of narrow-minded leaders, as Hitler’s inability to accept and comply with the public opinion resulted in the marginalization of their voices and the death of millions of people. That being said, it is important that leaders consider the shifts of popular opinion, as old opinion are sometimes immoral and must be revised.

Indeed, there are many factors to account for when discussing such a complex topic. One one hand, it is important that leaders to remain objective and not be influenced by shifts in public opinion. However on the other hand, leaders must be able to adopt new perspectives as these shifts are part of the evolutionary process. For these reasons, my opinion remains.