Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The primary objective of education is provide student’s with valuable information and knowledge and prepare them for their future endeavors. The prompt suggests that competition for high grades limits the quality of learning at all levels of education. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this statement and argue that instilling a sense of competition in a learning environment thwarts students’ quality of learning for two reasons.

Some may argue that competition serves as extrinsic motivation. Indeed, it is contended that intrinsic motivation is far more effective for long-term goal attainment. However, extrinsic is still a source of motivation that keeps student’s on top their course-load. For instance, math is a difficult subject to grasp. The complexity combined with one’s disinterest in the field may hinder their ability to conjure up their intrinsic motivation to study. That being said, the presence of extrinsic motivation is valuable in these situations, as students remain focused, exert the necessary efforts, and learn the material. This example illustrates the value of competitiveness in academia, as subjects can often times bore students and therefore, competition provides the extra push to keep them going.

However, there are many consequences of competitiveness within academia. For instance, such competition can lead to feelings of stress and anxiety. The education system has been designed to match a fast pace environment; leaving student’s with little time to struggle and practice a concept until they feel absolutely confident. Student’s are presented with new material every week and are expected to apply their knowledge learned from the previous week to the following weeks, even if they have a minimum understanding of the previous material. Consequently, student’s lacking support and have insufficient coping mechanisms may feel overwhelmed and handicapped; leading them to fall further behind in their studies. This example provides support for the prompt as it demonstrates that the fast pace environment of school combined with an overwhelming sense of competition may in fact hinder students’ quality of learning.

Moreover, competition can prevent one’s quality of learning by encouraging short-term knowledge rather than long-term knowledge. Creating an emphasis on competition within a field can promote tunnel vision on obtaining grades and undermine genuine interest in the course material. For instance, student’s who approach school through a competitive lens tend study with intentions of memorizing necessary material for the exam. Alternatively, those who simply have a curiosity for knowledge tend to study the material with intent of developing a deeper understanding of the concepts. Research has demonstrates that those approach a task for the sole purpose of memorizing are less likely to consolidate that material into long-term memory. This illustrates the importance of placing an emphasis on the quality of learning rather than competition, as the latter may only lead to short-term knowledge, which defeats the purpose of education.

In conclusion, while the extrinsic motivation associated with competition may be valuable in some circumstances, its effects does not seem to provide long-term benefits in an academic environment. That being said, my opinion remains that it is more important to discourage invoking a sense of competition in any level of education.