Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate — and, perhaps, even cruel — to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The prompt suggests a suspension of government funding for arts since it is insignificant compared to the number of citizens in need of financial support. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this statement and argue that, while the nation should devote more resources towards helping citizens in need, it would be prejudice to solely target funding for art.

Some may argue that funding art museums and services provide no value to socioeconomic issues in the world. For instance, museums that charge people for exploring the building and admiring paintings only contribute further to capitalism and personal money loss. In other words, while the government provides funding for temporary visual pleasure of consumers, there are many other’s struggling to find enough money for their next meal. This example reveals the gaps in a nation that caters to the desires of middle-class citizens while neglecting the needs those deemed as inferior. That being said, it is important that the nation allocates some funding to assist the citizens who have fallen through the cracks.

However, art can be a form of therapy and emotional release for many. Some may resort to the creation of art as their method of coping with personal trauma and world issues. Alternatively, some may resort to art as a coping method, finding comfort in the beauty of an artists creations. This example demonstrates that art may provide significant benefits to the artists and admirers. Everyone has different aspirations and methods of coping. While some may perceive funding for the arts as wasteful, others may greatly appreciate the government for providing an outlet for creators. That being said, while it is important for the government to support those in need, it would be unfair to solely target funding for arts while neglecting the government’s funding for other services.

Moreover, the meaning and information that can be extracted from art can often shed light on important issues within a community or the world. Many artists take advantage of their platform to spread awareness of current issues that are often neglected by the public. For instance, some artists create paintings of impoverished children suffering from poverty, hunger, and lack of education. Artists like these have the power to encourage viewers to help those in need. Moreover, there are some artists who donate all of their revenue to local communities or countries deprived of basic needs, such as food and clean water. These examples illustrate the value that arts provide for the artists, viewers, and those in need. The consequences of suspending government funding for arts may be detrimental to all parties mentioned.

In conclusion, while funding for arts does not directly solve issues of unemployment and starvation, it does appear to provide some value to the community, whether it be for therapeutic purposes, leisurely enjoyment, and indirectly assisting those in need. That being said, my opinion remains that it would be prejudice to solely target funding for art.