The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The study of a history is mandatory in the curriculum of secondary school. The prompt suggests that the main benefit of studying history is to dispel the illusion that people living now significantly differ from those in the past. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this statement and argue that the primary benefit of the study of history is to provide lessons regarding mistakes made in the past.

This prompt holds true to some extent, as it is important for students to understand that we are not vastly different from those who lived in earlier times. For instance, it was previously believed that humans today were a unique species that only emerged thousands of years ago. However, research on the bone structure of cave men from millions of years ago revealed similar physiological structures between cave men and humans today. This example illustrates one of the many examples of how the study of history has shaped our understanding of the past, in that it informs us of the many similarities found between the behaviours and physiological characteristics of humans today and people who lived in earlier times.

Nonetheless, an understanding of history serves a far greater purpose than providing comparisons between people from now and the past. Rather, the main benefit of the study of history is to provide crucial lessons regarding mistakes made in the past and the detrimental consequences that followed. Take for instance, the unfortunate events of Chernobyl resulting in an unknown number of horrendous deaths. Although full of confusion and mystery, scientists were eventually able to identify the sequence of events that lead to the eruption of Chernobyl’s power plant. This case demonstrates one of the most significant advantages of studying history, as we now have a thorough understanding of the critical mistakes made that contributed to the explosion and have developed safety measures to avoid similar devastation's in the future. That being said, the primary benefit of history is to save future lives.

Yet another benefit, unrelated to the prompt’s suggestion, is that the study of history provides an in-depth log for researchers, allowing them to peruse the methodology of previous studies and develop new approaches in an attempt to make groundbreaking discoveries. For instance, in the past, many were not aware of the health defects of smoking tobacco and believed in its potential to cure headaches and migraines. As a result, many doctors would recommend smoking as medication. However, studies have shown that smoking is poor for one’s physical health. This scientific finding was then documented into history and is now a well-known fact. If this were not noted into the log of history then it is possible that many doctors may continue to believe smoking tobacco is an effective form of medication. This example illustrates an alternative benefit of studying history, as it ensures that scientists and researchers are aware of previous, erroneous knowledge.

Indeed, there are many factors to account for when discussing such a complex topic. There are countless benefits that arise from the study of history and it would be difficult to identify the ‘main’ benefit. However, if we must do so, my opinion remains that the main benefit of studying history is that it provides lessons regarding mistakes made in the past and allows us to avoid such mistakes.