The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple County predicts that, if the proposed measure to prevent the development of existing farmland in order to prevent the county from becoming overdeveloped is passed, then there will be significant increases in housing prices. They have come to this conclusion because Pine County, who adopted similar restrictions, have experienced a doubling in their housing prices. However, before evaluating the likelihood of these predictions, three questions must be answered.

First of all, what is the population of Maple County compared to Pine County? It is possible that Pine County’s population is far greater than Maple County’s. Perhaps Pine is located in an area that attracted more residents, whereas few people move to Maple County and many people choose to move away. If any of the above have merit, then the council’s prediction is highly unlikely, as the demand for housing is not as high in Maple County as it is for Pine County.

Second of all, is it possible that Maple County is more comparable to Chestnut County? Perhaps Chestnut and Maple County have similar populations and residential trends. It is also possible that are both located in an area that is mostly cold and snowy throughout the year, attracting fewer residents, while Pine County is typically warm and attracts new homeowners. If any of the above are true, then the council’s predicted outcome of adopting the proposed measures may be unreasonable. Rather, the outcomes would likely mirror those found at Chestnut County.

Lastly, how developed is Maple County compared to Pine County? Perhaps Maple County is far developed than Pine County was before they adopted the measures. It is possible Maple County already has enough housing available, whereas Pine County did not have extra houses available for potential homeowners. Consequently, Pine’s decision to implement the restrictions were detrimental to housing prices. However, if this were the case, then Maple County would not experience the same increases in housing price, and therefore, the council’s predictions would not be accurate.

In conclusion, the council’s prediction, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its lack of supporting evidence. If the council is able to answer these three questions and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the council’s proposed recommendation and likelihood of their prediction.