In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt suggests that in any field of inquiry, novices are more likely than experts to make important contributions. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this statement and argue that one’s status of expertise does not determine the likelihood of making an important contribution.

Some may argue that beginners are more likely to approach a subject with an unbiased, optimistic mindset. For instance, it is well-documented that people who have unsuccessfully tackled a complex task for an extended period will only struggle more; therefore, it is often recommended that they take a break and detach from the task at hand. That being said, it may be beneficial for a beginner to attempt completing this task, as they will be less attached to the outcome and have a higher chance of contributing new, successful ideas.

However, this does not always hold true, as experts have more experience and knowledge in a given subject. While beginners may offer a detached perspective when experts reach a dead end, it is highly unlikely they can offer more knowledge than the expert themselves. For instance, mathematics is quite complex. In order to solve a complex equation, the solver must have a great deal of knowledge in mathematics. That being said, while an expert mathematician may hit a mental block and become frustrated after five failed attempts, it unlikely that a beginner with little attachment will be able to solve this complex equation. Why? Simply because he lacks the knowledge required to do so. This example illustrates that beginners lack the knowledge or experience that experts have acquired throughout the years – therefore, to say that beginners are more likely than experts to make large contributions is irrational and disrespectful to the experts themselves.

If an expert is able to detach from their frustration, it is far more likely that experts, rather than beginners, will make important contributions. Take for instance, Albert Einstein. Einstein is a quintessential example of an expert in physics. Although deemed as an expert, he has made profound contributions to science and his discoveries have shaped our understanding of the world today. Einstein once noted that, at times where he becomes frustrated and cannot figure out a concept, he will take a nap. When he would awaken, new ideas would come to him, and when he would try those ideas, they would often be the solution to his problem. This example illustrates the importance of detaching from one’s work in order to find the appropriate solution. While experts may often become immerse in their work, they must acknowledge that the solution often lies in their ability to take a step back.

In conclusion, I believe that, while beginners may offer a fresh new perspective, experts have years of knowledge and experience under their belt. However, it important to emphasize that one’s abilities do not simply lie in their status of expertise. Indeed, there are many individual factors that must be taken into consideration when discussing such a complex topic, however, for the reasons mentioned above, my opinion remains that it is possible for both beginners and experts to make important contributions.