The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that Calatrava should reduce funding for education, athletic playing fields, and other recreational activities in order to increase funding for city facilities and programs for adults. He has come to this conclusion based on last year’s decrease in the city’s birthrate compared to give years ago. However, before the strength of this argument can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be assessed.

First of all, the author must provide additional information about the trends in birthrate. Are the decreases experienced last year expected to continue onto next year? Perhaps Calatrava experienced an unexpected earthquake last year. Alternatively, maybe Calatrava experienced a recession and many people lost their jobs, leading many to struggle with finances. If any of the above are true, it is possible that the following year was chaotic and many couples delayed their plans of starting a family until next year. That being said, the author's argument would not hold water.

Even if the above was true, the author should provide evidence supporting the fact that athletic playing fields and recreational facilities only cater to children. It is possible that many adults enjoy playing soccer on outdoor fields on the weekend. Also, perhaps many adults borrow sports equipment from recreational facilities. If either of those scenarios has merit, then the conclusion in the argument is significantly weakened, as the city would be defunding facilities that cater to adults.

Lastly, the author must demonstrate that the decrease in birthrate correlates to decreased enrollment in Calatrava’s public schools. Even if the birthrate at Calatrava decreases, one cannot assume that the number of students enrolling in their public schools will decrease. Perhaps Calatrava has a reputation for its safe neighbourhoods and serves as a quintessential example of an ideal place to raise a family. If this were the case, then it is possible that there will be plenty of families moving to Calatrava in hopes of providing their children with a good upbringing. If the above is true, then the author’s prediction that there will be a decrease in public school enrollment is incorrect. Consequently, accepting his proposal for the ten-year budget may be detrimental to the quality of education for students.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed do to the author’s lack of supporting evidence. If he is able to provide additional information to support his claims, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the strength of the proposed recommendation to reduce funding for education, athletic playing fields, and recreational facilities to increase funding for city facilities and programs for adults.