The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that WWAC radio station should shift from its current rock-music format to a news and talk format to increase the number of listeners. He has come to this conclusion based on the recent decline in listeners, despite the population growth from retirees, and declines in local sales of recorded music; suggesting limited interest in music. However, before the strength of his argument can be properly evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be assessed.

First of all, the author must provide information regarding the demographics of WWAC radio station’s audience. Perhaps most listeners predominantly consist of adults in their early twenties. If this were the case, then it is possible that the decline in listener number is due to other factors. For instance, maybe many listeners recently discovered another radio station that plays more modern rock-music while WWAC’s music is not up-to-date. If the above is true, then changing to a news and talk format would be counteractive, as it may deter a greater number of youth listeners.

Second of all, the author must demonstrate that the decline in listender numbers is in fact due to their rock-music format. It is possible that most WWAC listeners recently discovered and prefer downloading music onto their phones and listening to music through their devices while driving. Moreover, maybe they prefer having full control over their playlist rather than having to wait until WWAC plays the song they want to listen to. If any of these scenarios has merit, then the argument to change WWAC’s format would not hold water, as it may upset the remaining audience and further decrease the number of listeners.

Lastly, the author must illustrate that changing the format to target retirees would effectively increase listener numbers. Perhaps most of the elderly population in this area are deaf and cannot listen to the radio. As a result, they may resort to watching television with subtitles and never attempt listening to the radio. Alternatively, it is possible that many new residents enjoy rock-music but are simply not aware of WWAC radio station. If any of these cases are true, then the author’s argument would be significantly weakened, as changing the format would not be effective.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its lack of supporting evidence. If the author is able to provide additional evidence to support his claims, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of his argument to change WWAC radio station from its current rock-music format to a news and talk format.