The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author argues that implementing online degree programs at Humana University will help increase total enrollment and solve budget problems. He has come to this conclusion based on the fifty percent increase of enrollment and consequent decrease in expenditures at Omni University. However, before the author’s predictions can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, is the success of Omni University a direct consequence of their availability of online degree programs? That is, it is possible that Omni University could have had greater enrollment and decreased expenditures if they did not institute the online programs? Perhaps Omni University is well-known for providing students with high-quality education. It may be that Humana University’s reputation is not as highly regarded and therefore attracts fewer students. If this were the case, students would possibly be more inclined to enroll in Omni rather than Humana University. As a result, implementing online degree programs would not effectively increase enrollment and solve budget problems at Humana University.

Secondly, would the benefits of online degree programs experienced at Omni University apply to Humana University? Perhaps Omni University is located in an area where internet and technology is readily available to students, while those attending Humana University cannot afford a personal computer. It is also possible that Omni University provides online students with a computer for the duration of their program, while Humana University expects students to use their own computers. If any of the above are true, then the author’s argument does not hold water.

Lastly, what are the structural differences between Omni and Humana University’s construction? It is possible that Omni University has spend less on dormitory and classroom expenditures because they initially invested in a greater number of dormitories and larger classrooms, and therefore do not need to renovate. In contrast, the layout of Humana University may be outdated and therefore had to renovate everything. In addition, perhaps Omni University is contracted with a construction company that charges less for better quality builds, whereas Humana Universitiy’s contractor charges more for poor infrastructure; therefore requiring renovations more often.

Evidently, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions. That being said, answering the questions above will allow for a proper analysis of the author’s suggestion and prediction.