Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The primary objective of research is to achieve a greater understanding of phenomena and develop plans that benefit the world. The prompt suggests that scientists and researchers should focus on on areas that are likely to benefit the majority. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement and argue that research should aim to be be all-inclusive and scientists must consider which group will suffer the most if their needs are neglected.

Some may argue that research focused on areas that benefit the majority is an effective method of minimizing suffering. It would be difficult and nearly impossible for scientists and researchers to encompass every individual. For instance, scientists who focus on developing less invasive method of removing webbed feet will only benefit those with webbed feet. Alternatively, scientists who develop a cure for arthritis will only benefits those with arthritis, while others with alzheimers will suffer without a cure. Evidently, it is impossible for researchers to conduct research that will provide benefits to everyone, therefore, it is important that research focuses on areas that benefit the majority in an effort to minimize suffering to the greatest degree.

Nonetheless, it is important for researchers to account for the minority, as all lives are valuable and deserve to experience the potential benefits from discoveries made by scientists and researchers. Take for instance, is scientists were debating between engineering a machine capable of purifying mud water for those in a small foreign city or developing a new engine capable of higher speeds available to all of America. Given that many individual’s in foreign countries suffer from a paucity of clean water, it would be morally wrong and selfish for scientists to prioritize the development of an engine, as many in the foreign city will suffer and potentially die. This example demonstrates the dangers of accepting the prompt’s recommdendation, as it is important for scientists to consider which group will suffer the greatest of left neglected.

Prioritizing the majority while allowing the minority to suffer will ultimately hinder the progression and improvement of society as a whole. For example, studies have found that neglect of homelessness leads to increased crime, dilapidation of the area, and increased vandalization and littering. Consequently, the majority may experience victimization of crimes, the city’s reputation may suffer, and global warming worsens. This example illustrates that scientists must also focus on research that benefits the minority, as allowing individual’s to fall through the gaps of society does in fact have an impact on the majority.

Indeed, the debate of whether scientists and researchers should focus on areas that benefit the majority of minority is quite complex and there are many factors that must be taken into account. Simply stating that the majority should be prioritized is not always the best answer. For the reasons mentioned above, my opinion remains that research should aim to be be all-inclusive and scientists must consider which group will suffer the most if their needs are neglected.