Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prompt suggests that the government should focus on immediate problems rather than trying to solve anticipated problems of the future. While I agree that it is important to address immediate problems, I believe is equally important that the government also devotes its focus on the anticipation and prevention of future. In my opinion, solely focusing on immediate problems may be detrimental for the long-term preservation of the country.

Indeed, adopting this recommendation would be advantageous in the present time. For instance, poverty and starvation within the homeless population is a persistent problem present throughout the world. Every year, millions of people are forced to live on the streets for various reasons and often receive little support from the government. Moreover, many homeless individual's die from starvation. Without assistance, the prevalence of poverty will only continue to worsen. That being said, the government has the power to significantly lessen the serverity of poverty, an immediate problem of today. For example, they can enforce laws that require restaurants to provide take-out and grocery stores to provide essential hygiene products, such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, toothpaste, and tooth brushes. This example illustrates the power in which the government holds to solve immediate problems, which would greatly assist those currently in need. Many would argue that this is more rational than solving anticipated problems that are not currently affecting anyone's quality of life.

However, while the example above may alleviate the prevalence of poverty, the government's decisions indirectly contributes to climate change. The decision mentioned above provides the less fortunate with basic needs. However, it also increases the use of plastic products. The plastic materials contained in take-out containers and bottles are unrecyclable and contribute to global warming. While poverty is an important issue that must be dealt with, research suggests that the effects of climate change will be detrimental to all species on the Earth. In other words, while the government is effectively solving immediate problems, they are contributing to an outcome that may affect the greater population. Rather than solely focusing on the immediate problem of poverty, they should develop a plan that also accounts for the future. For instance, the government could implementing a program that provides the homeless population with jobs and rehabilitation. This approach would provide individual's an opportunity for a second chance; allowing them to make a steady income and identify and solve the underlying factor's that contributed to their homelessness. In addition, the immaterial support provided by the government contributes less to global warming, as they are not simply providing a mass distribution of products. This example illustrates the importance of accounting for the future while solving immediate problems, as solely focusing on the current may greatly affect the future.

There are many factors to account for when discussing such a complex topic. While solving immediate problems should be a priority for the government, anticipating and accounting for future problems is critical for the long-term preservation of our planet. That being said, my opinion remains that the government should focus on solving both immediate and future problems.