Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some children are granted naturally born talents. The prompt suggests that society should identify those children and provide training at an early age to develop their talents. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this statement and argue that there are many disadvantages to placing such expectations on children and should be encouraged to choose and follow their own passions, for two reasons.

Some may argue that adopting the recommendation would be advantageous in ensuring a child utilizes the time in which learning is easily consolidated. It is well documented that brain plasticity is at its highest at the age of ten. For instance, given the plasticity of a child’s brain compared to an adult’s brain, children are capable of learning languages easier than adults. This example illustrates the benefits of providing training for children with special talents while they are young, as it will allow them to solidify their expertise while their ability to learn as at its peak.

However, there are many consequences that may arise if adult’s impose training on children, simply because they have a natural talent. While some children may develop a passion for their talents, it is not always the case. Some children, while naturally gifted in a particular skill, would rather train in an alternative skill. Take for instance, a child who has a special talent for running. While his parents perceive this as an omen for their child’s success in the Olympics, it is possible that the child is more interested in learning piano. This example illustrates one of the many disadvantages of forcing children to pursue their talents, as it may result in feelings of unhappiness and animosity towards their parents.

In addition, instilling a model of superiority in a given talent creates expectations. Studies have shown that expectations can create a sense of responsibility and distress when the individual cannot meet the expectations, leading to poor mental health. For instance, a child’s flexibility may be a sign for parents to train them in gymnastics. Such a competitive field requires many hours of training to successfully complete a complex routine. Children may feel pressured by their parents and coaches to complete a difficult routine. Consequently, if they are unable to do so then their sense of competence decreases. This example demonstrates one of the most detrimental outcomes of labeling a child’s skill as superior, as the pressure of meeting such expectations may damage their mental health.

In conclusion, while there may be few advantages to training children in their special talents, there are many disadvantages that may arise when imposing expectations on children. For these reasons, my opinion remains that children should not be trained in their special talents unless they are actually passionate.