Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author suggesss that KICK in Medway should include more call-in advice programs in order to gain a larger audience in the listening area. He has come to this conclusion based audience increases found at WCQP’s ratio station in Rockville, who increased the number of call-in advice programs. However, before the strength of the author’s recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, what is the availanility of mental health workers in Rockville compared to Medway? Perhaps Rockville has only have a few psychologists working in the area that are unwilling to expand their list of clients while citizens of Medway have no trouble finding a psychologist, as there are many employed in the area. That being said, many citizens in Rockville have found comfort in the call-in advice program at WCQP, as it is their only method of obtaining an outsider’s perspective on personal issues. If the above is true, then the author’s recommendation to include more call-in advice programs at Medway would be ineffective in gaining a lager audience.

Second of all, what are citizens quality of mental health in Rockville compared to Medway? Perhaps Rockville is a low socio-economic status area where many struggle with drug addiction or are burdened with debt. Alternatively, Medway is a high socio-economic area where everyone has sufficient income, healthy social relationships, and effective resources. If this scenario has merit, then it is likely that people at Rockville have poorer mental health than those in Medway; thus, it is unlikely that Medway citizens will find as much value in call-in advice programs than those in Rockville.

Lastly, is it possible that social acceptance of publicizing personal issues is more advanced in Rockville than Medway? Perhaps Rockville people are far more progressive in the sense that they are more willing to openly disclosing information of their personal life on broadcasts. On the contrary, it is possible that people in Medway still hold the belief that it is taboo to admit they are struggling with mental health issues. If the above is true, then the author’s recommendation to increase in-call advice programs would not lead to a larger audience, as people of Medway are uncomfortable with disclosing information about their personal issues.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluated the viability of his proposed recommendation to increase the number of in-call advice programs at KICK radio station.