Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The publisher of Newsbeat argues that the magazine should shift from political to more economic and personal finance coverage. The publisher has come to this conclusion because the magazines featuring political news were the poorest selling over the last three years and because a survey indicated a greater interest in economic issues. Newsbeat’s editor, however, argues against this due to the lack of political coverage in magazines today. Before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, how was the design of the political featured covers compared to the front cover to features of other topics? That is, were the front cover designs of other topics more captivating than politically related covers? It is possible that the front cover of the political magazines more plain and ‘bland’, while the front cover of other features, such as personal finance, incorporated more colour and had pictures of one hundred-dollar bills. Colour and pictures of desirable objects are more likely to capture the attention individuals. If this were the case, then the recommendation to curtail political coverage would not be reasonable. Rather, it may be more effective to allocate greater funding to hiring new designers.

Secondly, were the surveyors subscribed to Newsbeat magazine? Perhaps respondents are located in regions where citizens value economic coverage and have no interest in political issues, while Newsbeat magazines are distributed in an area where people are not educated or have no interest in economic coverage. It is also possible that many Newsbeat subscribers who value political coverage did not partake in the survey. If any of the above is true, then shifting from political to economic coverage may result in a loss of readers and decreased sales.

Lastly, it is also important to examine the recommendation made by the editor. Why does there exist only a few magazines offering extensive political coverage? Why is there not more? It is possible that most magazine companies have already realized that political coverage is no longer a ‘hot’ topic, and has therefore shifted to alternative topics to increase their sales. If this case is true, then it seems that Newsbeat would lag behind if they continue covering political news. Therefore, the editors opposition against the publisher would not hold water.

In conclusion, both the editor and publisher must provide additional information to answer these questions. Without these answers, the viability of their argument, as it stands now, cannot be properly evaluated.