Since those issues of Newsbeat magazine that featured political news on their front cover were the poorest-selling issues over the past three years, the publisher of Newsbeat has recommended that the magazine curtail its emphasis on politics to focus more exclusively on economics and personal finance. She points to a recent survey of readers of general interest magazines that indicates greater reader interest in economic issues than in political ones. Newsbeat's editor, however, opposes the proposed shift in editorial policy, pointing out that very few magazines offer extensive political coverage anymore.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this passage concludes that the recent decline in the sale of Newsbeat magazine issues can be mitigated by the publisher’s recommendation to digress the focus of the magazine from political news to economics and personal finance. The publisher supports her argument by two assumptions, which, however if not substantiated, would weaken the strength of the recommendation.

Firstly, the publisher presumes that the reason for poor sale of the issues on the newsstands over the past three years was the presence of political news on the front cover. It is possible that maybe the cause of poor readership was due to irrelevant news articles, or some fake or unverified claims present in those issues. It might be the case that the news featured on the cover page was related to some controversial issue which did not bode well with the intended audience. It is also possible that if the front cover featured some popular political figure, the sale would’ve skyrocketed. The publisher also has not presented any data on the sale of the magazine issues where the front cover featured something apart from political news. If any of these possibilities is true, the publisher’s recommendation to increase the sale of the magazine does not hold water.

Secondly, the publisher does not provide the number of readers that participated in the recent survey of magazine readers she mentions. It might be possible that the survey was taken by only a handful of people, or only a specific group of people who are inclined towards economics and finance, and are not that interested in political news that they would buy an associated magazine. There is also no evidence that the readers who filled the survey were presented with the Newsbeat as an option in the survey, or whether or not they gave accurate information in the questionnaire. Maybe the readers were wooed by the economics and finance segment magazines to give preference to their magazine in the survey. The publisher’s argument backing the proposed recommendation would be weakened if any of these scenarios is true.

In conclusion, it is possible that shifting the focus of Newsbeat magazine from political news to economics and personal finance would help in boosting the sales. However, as it stands now, the proposal relies on three unwarranted assumptions, which render the conclusion unpersuasive. Thus, the publisher needs to provide additional evidence on the sale numbers of all the issues in the past three years, and the reader base that participated in the survey.