The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

What would happen to the human race when robots and machines rise to power is an age-old question that finds ways in almost every second conversation about machines. Machines are created by humans and can very well be destroyed too. The question of the superiority of machines is foolish to ask. I strongly agree with the claim given in the prompt that machines are merely tools of the human mind and that the human mind will always be superior to them. My stance on this claim stands for three main reasons, stated as follows.

Firstly, the human mind is a complex neurological system capable of thinking and processing to the extent that even the best and most powerful machines can never achieve. The smart machines in question are simply a bunch of mathematical calculations done in large amounts to attain and store the required results in memory. The so-called artificial ‘intelligence’ of machines is, in fact, artificial and not acquired since they are programmed by humans to be like that. It is up to the programmer to teach the machine what he/she desires, and the machine has no say whatsoever in this process. For example, a few weeks back, one of the programmers at Google found a machine to be interpreting and behaving ‘human-like’. He simply reprogrammed the machine otherwise. Thus, machines will always be tools of the human mind that can be changed and modified at any time.

Secondly, the human mind's energy source is the human heart, which continuously pumps blood for sustenance. Various kinds of food items are meant for the development of the cranium. The more the human mind develops, the more it learns. On the contrary, the source of energy of the machines is electricity, which was discovered by humans in the first place. Moreover, the development of a machine is completely dependent on its pre-programmed code, which was done by humans. So, the very source of the power of a machine is because of humans, and the very source of its development is because of humans. In this kind of parasitic relationship, the host (human) will always be superior to the parasite (machine) since the latter is always at the mercy of the former. The question of superiority is rendered useless in such an environment.

Although, one might argue that humans depend a lot on machines in almost every sphere of life. In day-to-day life, humans use machines like mobile phones and laptops to communicate with each other, electronic devices like air conditioners and refrigerators for comfort, cars and bikes to move from one place to another, and whatnot. Some medical machines even help humans to survive, such as pacemakers and ventilators. Robotic machines aid a lot of basic redundant tasks that need to be done regularly. In such a case, this relationship would be symbiotic since both need each other. But, it must be noted that humans don’t ‘need’ the machines like the machines need the human mind. Our dependence on machines is a question of wants and needs, since way before any machine was invented, the human race was still flourishing, although with many more hardships.

Thus, for the reasons and examples stated above, it can be noted that the human mind will always be superior to machines. Machines are simply extensions of human hands and minds that perform some or the other tasks for their master. In conclusion, it is baseless to debate the superiority of human minds and machines since the former has the latter at his/her will, and it is not a level playing field with no grounds for comparison.