The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today’s ever-evolving world, our dependence on consumer goods has increased multifold over the past few years since the capitalist economies rose. Its most significant result is seen on the amount of waste generated from each household, proper disposal of which continues to be a huge concern for big towns and cities. I strongly agree with the claim that imposing stricter limits on the amount of trash accepted from each household. This measure, I believe, would definitely help to solve the environmental concerns arising out of the copious amounts of waste being collected each day due to the following reasons.

A lot of consumers indulge in environmentally-unaware consumption of goods and services, leading to the generation of large daily wastes. Imposing such a restriction would force them to be a little more conscious while going out. For example, if during a single trip to the shopping mall, one visits a few shops to buy some stuff, it will soon fill their hands with a dozen bags - some made of plastic while some made of paper. Half of those bags only contain a single item, is of no use when it reaches back home, and is thrown away in the trash the next morning. A conscious decision would be to carry a big bag from home to store all the shopping in and to avoid taking a carry bag from each shop. As illustrared in the example, such small habit changes would eventually lead to lesser consumer waste generated and would give rise to a better environment to live in, which is claimed in the prompt.

Secondly, there is no proper waste organization methodology followed by maximum households today. All kinds of waste - be it biodegradable, non-biodegradable, toxic, or medical waste, are dumped in a single bin and handed over to the municipal trucks in the morning. It also makes the segregation, and thereby disposal difficult and unnecessarily delayed. Restricting the amount of waste allowed will promote the citizens to perform a preliminary waste separation, and take care of some types of waste, probably reuse or recycle, on their own and not dump everything for the city to take care of. For example, food waste like leftover vegetables, stale fruits, or rotten eggs, can easily be planted in the backyard to provide natural manure to the soil. An aware resident would only give the waste which they cannot take care of themselves to the city, like plastic boxes, metal cans, etc which need to be disposed of properly by the authorities. In this way, a limit on the amount of waste that can be submitted would reduce the turnaround time needed to dispose off and decompose wastes.

However, some might argue that such a restriction would lead to excess amounts of domestic waste lying unattended in households where the people were not able to limit their daily waste generation. It is true that initially, not everyone would be able to submit to the limits imposed, but this inability would be enough motivation for them to try even harder and make smart environmentally-aware decisions to reduce their domestic waste. In the longer run, this practice would benefit everyone personally as well as environmentally as well. In conclusion, the claim that imposing limits on the domestic waste accepted from each household will help solve environmental problems is justified and well reasonable because of the reasons enlisted above.