A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in the passage concludes that the new restaurant in the Bay City area, Captain Seafood, whose specialty is seafood would be really popular and profitable. The author has based his/her conclusion on three assumptions, which if not substantiated, would significantly weaken the conclusion derived.

Firstly, the author has presumed that the people living in the Bay City area prefer eating at restaurants where the intended cuisine is their speciality. It might be possible that the people prefer eating at popular multi-cuisine restaurants which have been established since long, and people trust their food quality and cleanliness. It might be the case that the customers relish seafood along with other cuisines, such as Chinese and Italian, and not solely seafood, which the new Captain Seafood restaurant would serve. It is also possible that some members of the family enjoy seafood, while others enjoy some other kind of food, which might be available in the existing Bay City restaurants. If any of these scenarios is true, then the author’s conclusion that a new seafood-special restaurant would easily get popular and earn profits does not hold water.

Secondly, the author has assumed that the families who prefer fewer home-cooked meals would go out to eat seafood only. There is no evidence that the two-income families as mentioned in the passage prefer seafood over home-cooked meals. It might be possible that these families may go for an entirely different cuisine while going out for a meal. It is also not clear how many families participated in the nationwide survey mentioned in the passage. It is possible that maybe the survey was filled only by those families who did not prefer home-cooked meals, and generalizing this opinion for all the families would be misleading. Thus, if any of these possibilities exist, then the author’s claim for success of the new Captain Seafood restaurant would be significantly weakened.

Finally, it has been wrongly presumed that seafood is the healthier alternative while eating at restaurants. There is no evidence stating that seafood comes under the healthy eating preferred by the Bay City area families. It might be possible that seafood might have high content of virulent food components, which might affect the well-being of the people. It might cause some allergic reactions to the skin and/or diseases. It is also possible that the families who prefer fewer home-cooked meals and prefer healthy eating might be including salads and fruits as part of their diet, thus not ‘cooking’ their food but simply gathering and eating. The author’s conclusion about the new seafood-special restaurant becomes unwarranted and unjustified in this case.

In conclusion, it might be possible that the new Captain Seafood restaurant would become popular and earn profits in the Bay City Area. But, as it stands now, the author’s conclusion relies on three unwarranted assumptions, which leaves it unpersuasive at best. Thus, the author needs to provide additional evidence on the breakdown of seafood sales coming from non-specialised restaurants, the preference of families while eating out at restaurants, and the health analysis of seafood and whether or not families agree with the same.